Designing for learning with technology

Professional development programs for staff

Learning Environments and the Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education jointly offer the following professional development opportunities. Sessions will provide a diverse range of topics covering the use of learning technologies in teaching.


Theory, research and practice workshops

These ‘hands-on’ workshops delivered by LE and MCSHE staff provide participants with an overview of the:

• Theoretical basis for using digital technologies in teaching and learning;
• Supporting evidence and teaching case studies from research; and
• Activities, strategies and tips for practice.

Each workshop focuses on a key topic related to designing for learning with technology.
Participants will be able to work on their ideas and current projects in these workshops to build relevant and useful examples in their own disciplinary context.


Practical pedagogy sessions

The practical pedagogy sessions provide an opportunity for academic, professional and Learning Environments staff to showcase tools and methods used in teaching and learning with technology.

These sessions have been developed to demonstrate innovative pedagogical tools in practice, as well as create opportunities for discussion and collaboration.

Participants attending these sessions will:

• Learn how to put new ideas into practice
• See examples of practical applications
• Share feedback about their experiences and learn from those shared by others
• Explore opportunities for collaboration.


Masterclasses

These masterclasses have been developed as short intensive sessions, focusing on new tools, activities or ideas to inspire and extend the possibilities of teaching with digital and media technologies.

These are ‘hands-on’, practical demonstrations using example case studies. The classes will be delivered by experienced LE staff using a problem based ‘see one, do one’ approach. Participants are encouraged to bring their own examples or projects for a more relevant experience!


2017 session timetable

Date Seminar name
April
Thursday 27 April, 2-4pm Learning design
May
Tuesday 9 May, 2-4pm Feedback and assessment
Wednesday 17 May, 12.15-1.15pm Padletry - designing collaborative activities for engaged learning
Wednesday 24 May, 2-4pm The flipped classroom
Friday 26 May, 1-2pm Beginning mobile app development
June
Friday 2 June, 12.15-1.15pm Designing a peer review assessment task
Wednesday 7 June, 12.15-1.15pm How to use presentation slides effectively
Friday 9 June, 2-4pm Using video in teaching
Wednesday 14 June, 9.15am-4pm Video storytelling with iPads
Tuesday 20 June, 2-4pm Using learning analytics in teaching
Thursday 29 June, 12.15-1.15pm Creating and using rubrics for assessment
July
Thursday 6 July, 1-2pm Immersive learning with virtual reality
Tuesday 11 July, 12.15-1.15pm Reviewing and interpreting student activity and assessment data
To be advised Podcasting - learning through audio
August
Tuesday 8 August, 12-1pm Presenting to camera
Wednesday 9 August, 12.15-1.15pm Using social media to enhance teaching and learning
Wednesday 16 August, 2-4pm Learning design
Wednesday 23 August, 2-4pm Feedback and assessment
Thursday 24 August, 9.15am-4pm Video storytelling with iPads
Tuesday 29 August, 12.15-1.15pm How to use presentation slides effectively
September
Tuesday 5 September, 12.15-1.15pm Using blogs for reflective writing
Thursday 14 September, 2-4pm Using video in teaching
Wednesday 20 September, 1-2pm Creating and linking web forms to the LMS
Wednesday 27 September, 2-4pm The flipped classroom
October
Tuesday 3 October, 1-2pm Immersive learning with virtual reality
Tuesday 10 October, 2-4pm Using learning analytics in teaching
Tuesday 17 October, 12.15-1.15pm Virtual tutorials - designing interactive webinars
November
Thursday 9 November, 12.15-1.15pm Making large lectures more interactive
Wednesday 15 November, 12-1pm Presenting to camera

More events may be added

Check back here regularly as we may add more sessions to the schedule.

Enquiries

Please email sheila.labatt@unimelb.edu.au or grace.mccorkell@unimelb.edu.au


Learning Environments support centre